Vernon College Online Learning Tips during the Covid-19 Pandemic
Posted By: Holly Scheller - 3/24/2020 12:00:00 AM

Vernon College Online Learning Tips during the Covid-19 Pandemic

 

This link provides you a tutorial on using canvas if you have not done so before. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PQac1ADWVIk&feature=youtu.be

 

 Be patient - with your instructor and your classmates. It’s possible neither has done online classwork before.
 Be patient - with technology. There will be kinks and errors as everyone adjusts to finishing the semester online. If your instructor is holding an online chat or video it may take several minutes for everyone to log on and the event to start.
 Help others – if you have experience learning in this format and using this technology help others – your classmates and your instructors. If you do not have experience be patient and ask for help when you need help.
 Be diligent – if something isn’t working correctly let the instructor know. If a link is broken, an assignment isn’t posted, you didn’t receive an expected email, or you can’t access an assignment – let the instructor know by email.
 Be respectful – this is a stressful time for everyone on personal, professional, and educational levels. Send emails or messages that are simple, clear and explain your issue or problem. Be respectful in those emails – For example: “Dr. Curry, the assignment you said would be available today isn’t open? Do you mind checking on that to see if the problem is on your end or my end?”
 Communication is key! – when instructors teach in class they can see your face. If the class is smiling and nodding, they know you are understanding. If they see everyone confused, they know to slow down and reteach that area. In an online environment, do not be afraid to ask questions and ask for help. The teacher needs your feedback to know what you are understanding and what you are not understanding.
 Be on time – it is easy to get behind and put off online work. Make sure to understand deadlines and turn your work in early, if at all possible. If you wait to upload an assignment until the last 5 minutes, only to find the internet is out, that is unacceptable.
 Keep in contact if you get sick – if you get the virus (or any illness) please email your instructors immediately. Vernon College realizes that this is a global pandemic. We know that some of our students will get sick. Your health is our first priority. Don’t just quit participating in class - notify your instructors that you are ill so that they can each work with you on a plan.
Vernon College is committed to helping you complete your Spring 2020 semester!
Our Student Success Coaches and Student Services Staff are still available to help you in a virtual format, by email or by phone. Please contact us by email if you have concerns or issues so that we can schedule the best way to meet with you while still adhering to social distancing. We know you have questions and we are ready to help you find the answers.

 

STUDENT SUCCESS SPECIALISTS
Lindsey David – ldavid@vernoncollege.edu
Sjohonton Fanner – sfanner@vernoncollege.edu
Jackie Polk – jpolk@vernoncollege.edu
Clara Garza – cgarza@vernoncollege.edu
Kelly Peterson – knpeterson@vernoncollege.edu

 

DUAL CREDIT/ CONCURRENT ENROLLMENT STUDENTS
Melissa Moore – mmoore@vernoncollege.edu

 

VA SERVICES/ CAREER SERVICES STUDENTS
Chelsey Henry – chenry@vernoncollege.edu
Sharron Anderle – sanderle@vernoncollege.edu

 

TESTING
Tracy Catlin- tcatlin@vernoncollege.edu
SheaLeigh Arledge-sarledge@vernoncollege.edu

 

STUDENT SUCCESS PATHWAY DIRECTOR
Criquett Scott – cscott@vernoncollege.edu

 

REGISTRAR/ DIRECTOR OF ENROLLMENT MANAGEMENT
Amanda Raines – araines@vernoncollege.edu

 

DEAN OF STUDENT SERVICES
Kristin Harris – kharris@vernoncollege.edu

 

VICE PRESIDENT OF STUDENT SERVICES
Dr. James Nordone – jnordone@vernoncollege.edu

Back
vernon college logo

TEACHING. LEARNING. LEADING.
Monday-Thursday 8:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. // Friday 8:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.
  • Vernon Campus
    4400 College Drive
    Vernon, TX 76384
    940.552.6291
  • Century City Center
    4105 Maplewood
    Wichita Falls, TX 76308
    940.696.8752
  • Skills Training Center
    2813 Central Expressway East
    Wichita Falls, TX 76302
    940.766.3369
  • Seymour Learning Center
    200 Stadium Dr
    Seymour, TX 76380
    940.889.3133